Answer me with HTML

Turn complex questions into readable, self-contained HTML pages that work offline.

Stars
★ 2k
Last updated
today
License
MIT
Primary language
JavaScript

At a glance

How it runs
Agent plugin / skillCLI
Works with
Universal · cross-platformCodex · Claude Code
Cost
Free software; you pay for model usage
Setup effort
Low · running in minutes
You'll need
Node.js 20 or newerShell / CLILocal filesystem
Typical use
A developer learning the TCP handshake can get a page with a sequence diagram, state diagram, and flag table.
Not a fit if
  • Users who only need short, plain-text answers
Source review
61/100 · Some gaps

What does this agent do, and when should you use it?

Answer me with HTML is an agent skill for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Pi, and other assistants, with a terminal CLI named `am`. The assistant writes a Markdown draft, and the CLI renders it as a single-page HTML document with text, tables, code, and diagrams. Components include `flow`, `sequence`, `tree`, and `timeline`, with blueprint, shadcn, and paper themes. Each output is a standalone HTML file that works offline and embeds its Markdown source. It requires Node.js 20 or newer; the README does not specify an API key or model-service pricing.

After installation, ask an assistant to explain a concept, map a codebase, or compare options; the assistant decides whether a page is useful, drafts Markdown, and invokes the am CLI. The CLI parses frontmatter, components, and code blocks, computes panel and diagram layouts, applies a theme, and writes one HTML file, by default under ~/.answer-me-with-html/pages/. Code blocks can quote actual project files with src= and lines=; the CLI refuses files outside the folder and files that hold keys. For video requests, am video turns a draft with narration beats into a player page, and --mp4 can produce a video file.

  1. A developer learning the TCP handshake can get a page with a sequence diagram, state diagram, and flag table.
  2. An engineer onboarding to an unfamiliar repository can map its folders and module call relationships.
  3. A team choosing between Redis and Memcached can review a comparison table and verdict.
  4. A developer planning a cache change can inspect actual code alongside open decisions presented as options.
  5. A technical educator can request an explainer video with step-by-step diagrams and narration.

How do you install or deploy this agent?

Requires Node.js 20 or newer. Installing the skill does not require a separate npm install. The README recommends asking a supported assistant to follow INSTALL.md; it also documents the general skills installer and Claude Code plugin commands. The general installer asks which assistants to target. For the Claude Code plugin, run these inside Claude Code:

npx skills add QingYunA/answer-me-with-html
/plugin marketplace add QingYunA/answer-me-with-html
/plugin install answer-me-with-html@answer-me-with-html

You can also copy skills/answer-me-with-html into an agent's skill folder. The README gives this Claude Code example:

git clone --depth 1 https://github.com/QingYunA/answer-me-with-html.git /tmp/answer-me-with-html
cp -R /tmp/answer-me-with-html/skills/answer-me-with-html ~/.claude/skills/answer-me-with-html

How do you use this agent?

After installation, ask the assistant a question that benefits from a visual explanation, for example:

Explain the TCP three-way handshake

You can also ask explicitly for HTML, or use the CLI to inspect, change, or reset settings:

am config
am config set open off
am config reset

Pages are saved under ~/.answer-me-with-html/pages/ by default. For a video, explicitly ask the assistant, for example:

make a 3b1b-style video on the TCP handshake

The README says am video renders the video draft and --mp4 adds a video file output.

What are this agent's strengths and limitations?

Pros
  • The assistant writes Markdown rather than hand-authoring markup; the README benchmark reports about one-eighth as many output tokens for the same questions.
  • The CLI computes panel and diagram layout and provides components such as flow, sequence, tree, and timeline.
  • Each page is a standalone HTML file with no CDN links or web fonts, so it opens offline and is easy to share.
  • Pages embed their Markdown source and support comments and selectable answers on the page.
  • The README explicitly lists support for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, and Pi.
Limitations
  • Requires Node.js 20 or newer and an assistant able to run shell commands and access files.
  • Requires installing a skill or the Claude Code plugin; it is not a standalone hosted Q&A service.
  • The README does not specify model/API charges or a model provider, so total usage cost depends on the assistant used.
  • The ASD-STE100-based writing check covers documented machine-checkable rules and warns by default.

How does this agent compare with similar options?

The README compares the project with Archify and GenUI plugins such as dsh-genui. Archify creates an interactive diagram from a JSON spec, while GenUI plugins show components inside one chat app. This skill renders a complete page with text, tables, code, and diagrams from a Markdown draft, for use with an assistant that can run a shell command.

Key facts side by side with the most closely related agents.

Agent Source review Form / cost Stars Updated Language Full support on
Answer me with HTML This agent 61 · Some gaps Agent plugin / skillFree + model costs ★ 2k today JavaScript Codex · Claude Code
Markdown Viewer Agent Skills 39 · Major gaps Agent plugin / skillFree ★ 3.4k 2d ago JavaScript Codex · Claude Code
Ori Mnemos 80 · Good CLIFree ★ 331 6d ago TypeScript Claude Code · OpenAI API · Claude API
Excalidraw MCP Server & CLI 59 · Major gaps CLIFree ★ 2.5k 29d ago TypeScript ChatGPT · Codex · Claude Code · Claude.ai

How does FollowAgents rate this agent?

FollowAgents source review · FARS-2.1
Some gaps
61/ 100 5-point scale 3.1 / 5
Trust 14/29
Reliability 9/14
Adaptability 12/18
Convention 12/18
Effectiveness 10/13
Verifiability 4/8
Why each dimension lost points
Trust14 / 29 · 2.4/5

The README describes a local CLI, offline single-file output, and refusal of source-file references outside the project or to files holding keys; these support least privilege and sensitive-data handling, but the CLI source was not provided to verify the implementation. It says cleanup asks first and update checks send no user information, while the install instructions say no questions are asked and browser opening is available by default; confirmation and external-effects safeguards are therefore partial. Dependencies are bundled, but there is no evidence of dependency auditing or vulnerability handling. Pages retain their Markdown source, though the product gives no general account of the sources behind answer facts.

Reliability9 / 14 · 3.2/5

The README, package.json, CI configuration, and tests broadly agree about Node 20+, the bundled CLI, example rendering, and install checks. The dependency set is small and bundled, which offers some support for ordinary availability. The README says draft errors return a line number, component, and corrected example, supporting understandable failure feedback; the implementation was not included, so this does not merit full marks.

Adaptability12 / 18 · 3.3/5

The README covers explanations, architecture, comparisons, reviews, and plans, and says simple questions can remain page-free; users can also explicitly request HTML. It lists component uses, says videos are generated only on request, and documents language, theme, and Node requirements. Boundaries and environment fit are fairly clear, but cross-agent compatibility is mainly asserted in documentation and is not demonstrated for each environment in the supplied material.

Convention12 / 18 · 3.3/5

The README is clearly organized and provides installation options, examples, settings, reference links, and development guidance. The MIT license text is complete and package.json states a version. Marks are deducted because the supplied material has no changelog or clearly named maintenance owner and says little about known limitations. Naming and examples are reasonably consistent but do not establish complete coverage or stability across all cases.

Effectiveness10 / 13 · 3.8/5

The product turns Markdown drafts into readable HTML with layout, diagrams, and styling, and offers comments, decision replies, and source copying. The README gives token and timing comparisons and points to benchmark data, supporting its marginal-value claim; however, the sample is small, the stated bill savings are modest, and the evidence is project-reported, so cost-benefit earns partial support.

Verifiability4 / 8 · 2.5/5

The README links some performance figures to repository benchmark data and points to examples, reference material, and comparisons; CI configuration and tests also provide corroboration for bundling and selected behaviors. Marks are deducted because performance claims rely mainly on limited project-run comparisons, many safety and usability claims are README assertions in the supplied material, and fact-versus-inference labeling is not systematic.

Risks and how to mitigate them
  • The install instructions direct the agent to read a remote INSTALL.md, and standard installation invokes an installer; check that the chosen agent and install method fit local policy.
  • The performance comparison is a project-reported small sample, and the stated bill savings are smaller than the token reduction; do not assume the same gains for other models or tasks.
Evidence confidence: Low Reviewed Oct 08, 2026 Reviewed revision e729b248816c
See the full review method →

FAQ

Do I need a paid API key?
The README lists no API key requirement and does not specify model costs. The software is MIT-licensed; any model or assistant service charges depend on the assistant you use.
Do generated pages need an internet connection?
No. Each page is a single HTML file without CDN links or web fonts and can be opened offline.
Can it quote real code from my project?
Yes. A code block can use src= and lines= to quote file content. Files outside the folder and files that hold keys are refused.
Does every question create a page?
By default, the assistant decides whether a page is useful; a simple one-line question can get a one-line answer. Optional always-on mode can also create pages for conclusions and similar replies, and is off by default.
Can it make videos?
Yes, when explicitly requested. am video renders a draft with narration beats as a player page, and --mp4 can add a video file.
View on GitHub ↗ Install ↓

Compare agents like this one

The same FARS review applied across the shortlist this agent qualifies for.

Related agents