SkillsVote Skill Governance
Recommend skills for each task and use execution feedback to improve reusable agent skill libraries.
- Source repo
- MemTensor/skills-vote
- Stars
- ★ 308
- Last updated
- 3mo ago
- License
- MIT
- Primary language
- Python
- FA score
- 45/100 · Major gaps
At a glance
- How it runs
- Works with
- Portable with changesCodex · Claude Code (Partial support)
- Setup effort
- Medium · a few setup steps
- You'll need
- Typical use
- Agent teams with large open skill collections that want task-specific retrieval instead of loading a fixed, large skill list.
- Not a fit if
- Teams unwilling to provide an API key for the hosted index
- Teams needing local attribution and skill-library evolution today
- Source review
- 45/100 · Major gaps 1 safety controls not found
What does this agent do, and when should you use it?
SkillsVote connects skill collection and profiling with pre-task recommendation, outcome attribution, and skill-library evolution. The repository provides skills-vote, an Agent skill that connects to the hosted SkillsVote service, and skills-vote-local, which recommends from local or private SKILL.md libraries. The hosted integration can submit post-task feedback grounded in execution trajectories, skill usage, and verifier signals; the local integration currently offers configurable agentic search and vector search. The repository also includes skill preprocessing tools and benchmark scripts and configs for reproducing the paper's main experiments. README-listed evaluations include Terminal-Bench Pro, Terminal-Bench 2.0, and SWE-Bench Pro. Consider it if you need just-in-time skill loading and can configure the hosted service, or want recommendations from a local skill library; local attribution and library evolution have not yet been released.
The lifecycle starts by collecting skills from open-source or private libraries and profiling runtime requirements, dependencies, quality, and verifiability. Before a task, hosted skills-vote recommends skills through the SkillsVote service, while skills-vote-local searches a local or private SKILL.md library using configured agentic search or vector search. The hosted workflow can assess task outcomes after execution using trajectories, skill usage, and verifier signals, then submit attribution-grounded feedback to support updating or creating reusable skills. The repository also supplies skill preprocessing and benchmark scripts and configs; release of the main experiment trajectories and aggregated results remains on the roadmap.
- Agent teams with large open skill collections that want task-specific retrieval instead of loading a fixed, large skill list.
- Organizations or researchers keeping
SKILL.mdfiles in private directories who want to configure local retrieval withskills-vote-local. - Codex, Claude Code, or OpenClaw users who want to install
skills-votefor hosted recommendations and post-task feedback. - Researchers who need the repository's scripts and configs to reproduce its Terminal-Bench or SWE-Bench Pro evaluations.
- Skill-library maintainers who want to profile runtime requirements, dependencies, quality, and verifiability before managing library contents.
How do you install or deploy this agent?
The hosted integration requires SKILLS_VOTE_API_KEY; the README's setup prompt also lists GH_TOKEN. Install it with:
npx skills add MemTensor/skills-vote --skill skills-voteInstall the local-first integration with:
npx skills add MemTensor/skills-vote --skill skills-vote-localAfter installation, open the installed skill root and configure configs/config.yaml. The README does not specify a Node.js version, the config fields, or how to obtain the hosted API key.
How do you use this agent?
After installing skills-vote, use it from a supported Agent to connect to the hosted service and provide SKILLS_VOTE_API_KEY; the setup prompt also lists GH_TOKEN. The hosted service supports skill recommendations and post-task attribution feedback.
After installing skills-vote-local, edit configs/config.yaml under the installed skill root to configure retrieval from a local or private skill library. The README names agentic search and vector search but provides neither a copyable config example nor the invocation syntax within an Agent.
What are this agent's strengths and limitations?
- Its lifecycle design links skill collection and profiling with pre-task recommendation, outcome attribution, and skill evolution.
skills-vote-localsupports recommendations from local or privateSKILL.mdlibraries with agentic search and vector search strategies.- Benchmark scripts and configs cover Terminal-Bench Pro, Terminal-Bench 2.0, and SWE-Bench Pro evaluation setups.
- Hosted recommendations and attribution feedback require
SKILLS_VOTE_API_KEY; the README's setup prompt also asks forGH_TOKEN. - The local integration is documented for recommendations; local attribution and library evolution remain roadmap items.
- The README gives no config-field example, API-key signup steps, or runtime version requirement, leaving setup details to resolve.
- The main experiment trajectories and aggregated results are listed as future releases, limiting full inspection and reproduction.
How does this agent compare with similar options?
Key facts side by side with the most closely related agents.
| Agent | Source review | Form / cost | Stars | Updated | Language | Full support on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SkillsVote Skill Governance This agent | 45 · Major gaps | Agent plugin / skill | ★ 308 | 3mo ago | Python | — |
| Agent Skills Library | 67 · Some gaps | Agent plugin / skillFree + model costs | ★ 240 | 2mo ago | Python | Codex · Claude Code |
| Claude Code Skills & Plugins | 64 · Some gaps | Agent plugin / skillFree | ★ 29k | today | Python | Codex · Claude Code |
| Claude Skills for Full-Stack Developers | 51 · Major gaps | Agent plugin / skillFree + model costs | ★ 12k | 5d ago | JavaScript | Claude Code |
How does FollowAgents rate this agent?
Why each dimension lost points
The README says the hosted integration requires SKILLS_VOTE_API_KEY and GH_TOKEN and describes recommendation and post-task feedback, but does not explain permission scope, exact data flows, or key protection; least privilege, data flow transparency, and sensitive data handling therefore score 1. The setup prompt does not specify step-by-step approval or confirmation. The dependency list has version ranges and pins but no security audit evidence. Remote service use and post-task feedback are disclosed at a high level, while revocation or recovery is not described. A paper citation, author list, project name, and MIT license provide some attribution evidence, supporting a score of 2 for source attribution.
The README is broadly consistent about hosted and local integrations, capabilities, and unfinished roadmap items. pyproject.toml specifies Python and dependency constraints, supporting a self-consistency score of 2. Some dependencies are bounded or pinned, but no availability guarantees are given, so dependency availability scores 1. The provided material does not describe error handling or failure messages, so that criterion scores 0.
The README targets coding, research, and workflow agents and distinguishes hosted service use from local or private skill libraries, earning 2 for audience and scenarios. It states that local recommendation can avoid the hosted index and marks local attribution and evolution as unfinished roadmap work, earning 2 for capability boundaries. Timing is summarized as recommendation before a task and feedback after it, without precise trigger conditions, so trigger precision scores 1. Setup instructions cover Windows, macOS/Linux, and Python 3.12+, supporting an environment fit score of 2.
The README organizes material into product overview, roadmap, evaluation, quick start, and citation sections, earning 2 for information architecture. It gives hosted and local installation steps and points to configuration guidance, though the full configuration document was not provided, so install notes score 2. Skill and package names are stable in the supplied material, earning 2 for naming stability. Quick-start examples are present but no FAQ is shown, so examples and FAQ score 1. The roadmap identifies local attribution/evolution and experiment trajectories as unreleased, earning 2 for known limitations. The LICENSE file presents the MIT terms in full, earning 3. pyproject.toml declares version 1.2.0 and the README lists dated release news, earning 2 for versioning and changelog. MemTensor/OpenMem are named, but no clear maintenance owner or update responsibility is described, so maintenance responsibility scores 1.
The stated product goal is to recommend skills on demand, attribute task outcomes, and feed results into skill evolution; the README also names local recommendation modes. The supplied material lacks output formats, concrete use results, or detailed operating flows, so output usability scores 1. The lifecycle connection between collection, recommendation, attribution, and evolution is clearly stated, supporting marginal value of 2. Hosted use requires API credentials and the dependency list is substantial; local use requires configuration. Costs and benefits are not quantified, so cost-benefit scores 1.
The README names evaluation benchmarks, points to a reproduction document, and cites a paper, but the underlying data and itemized evidence for scale and performance claims are absent from the supplied material; claim traceability scores 1. The README and pyproject.toml offer limited cross-checks for project identity, dependencies, version, and setup, but the cited experiment document, code, and result files were not provided, so cross-source corroboration scores 1. The README distinguishes released features from roadmap items and points performance claims to a paper and experiment document; however, the supplied material does not separate each numerical or outcome claim from verifiable evidence, so fact-inference separation scores 1.
- Not found in source: rollback or recovery pathBack up first, or work on a git branch or snapshot, so its changes can be undone.
- The hosted integration uses API credentials and a remote service; the supplied material does not specify what data is submitted, how it is retained, how keys are protected, or how access can be revoked.
- The README's scale and performance claims and its reproduction guidance are not cross-checked by source code, experiment data, or result files in the supplied material.
FAQ
When should I choose hosted or local integration?
skills-vote uses the hosted service for recommendations and post-task attribution feedback, and requires SKILLS_VOTE_API_KEY. skills-vote-local recommends from local or private libraries; the README says agentic search needs no SkillsVote API key.Can I run attribution and skill-library evolution locally?
How do I configure recommendations for a local skill library?
skills-vote-local and configure configs/config.yaml in the installed skill root. The README mentions agentic search and vector search but includes no config example.