AI Agent Engineering Textbook

Learn to build Agents from fundamentals to production engineering through a bilingual textbook and runnable reference implementation.

Stars
★ 574
Last updated
10d ago
License
MIT
Primary language
HTML

At a glance

How it runs
FrameworkMCP serverSelf-hosted service
Works with
Portable with changesOpenAI API (Partial support)
Cost
Free, no paid service needed
Setup effort
Medium · a few setup steps
You'll need
PythonFastAPIDockermdBookOpenAI API key (optional)Shell / CLINetwork accessLocal filesystemMCP Server
Typical use
Engineers moving from LLM API calls to Agent development can follow the chapters on tools, memory, planning, and RAG.
Not a fit if
  • Teams seeking a ready-to-use hosted Agent service
  • Teams requiring a production-complete implementation

What does this agent do, and when should you use it?

This is an engineering-focused AI Agent textbook in English and Chinese, with 23 chapters, 188 Markdown pages per language, more than 330 SVG diagrams, and five interactive demos. It covers LLM fundamentals, tools, memory, planning, RAG, context and harness engineering, Agentic RL, multi-agent systems, evaluation, security, and deployment, alongside framework practice with LangChain and LangGraph. `reference-agent/` is a small teaching baseline with a ReAct loop, tools, memory, security checks, evaluation, an MCP server, and a FastAPI service. It is suited to study and experimentation; the repository explicitly says the implementation is not production-complete.

src/en/ and src/zh/ contain the bilingual mdBook textbook, with chapters on Agent components, research papers, and engineering methods, supported by diagrams and interactive demos. The Agent loop in reference-agent/ can run registered tools and supports an offline FakeProvider and an optional OpenAI provider; the implementation also includes memory, security boundaries, an MCP server, FastAPI endpoints, streaming, and an evaluation harness. The documented commands install development dependencies and run offline tests. The repository does not describe a finished Agent command for end users to invoke from a terminal.

  1. Engineers moving from LLM API calls to Agent development can follow the chapters on tools, memory, planning, and RAG.
  2. Learners comparing Agent architectures and research methods can read paper-to-practice notes on ReAct, Reflexion, MemGPT/Letta, GraphRAG, and GRPO.
  3. Developers learning LangChain or LangGraph can use the framework chapters to connect framework practice with underlying mechanisms.
  4. Developers practicing tool use and security checks can inspect and run the reference-agent/ teaching baseline.
  5. Teams seeking bilingual study material and locally built books can work from the English and Chinese mdBook sources and serve.sh.

How do you install or deploy this agent?

The textbook uses mdBook configuration, and serve.sh is provided to build and serve both language versions locally. The supplied material does not give an mdBook installation command or version. For the reference implementation, the documented setup is:

cd reference-agent
python -m venv .venv
source .venv/bin/activate
pip install -e ".[dev]"
pytest -q

The Python version is not specified. FakeProvider runs offline and the tests need no API key. The optional OpenAI provider requires appropriate API credentials, but its configuration steps are not described in the supplied material.

How do you use this agent?

After installing the development dependencies in the reference implementation directory, run the offline tests with:

cd reference-agent
python -m venv .venv
source .venv/bin/activate
pip install -e ".[dev]"
pytest -q

To study the book, start with src/en/SUMMARY.md or src/zh/SUMMARY.md; ./serve.sh supports local builds and serving for both languages. The reference implementation includes FastAPI endpoints and an MCP server, but the supplied material does not list endpoint paths, startup commands, or MCP client configuration, so it does not provide enough information for a first API call.

What are this agent's strengths and limitations?

Pros
  • The 23 chapters form a path across foundations, core capabilities, frameworks, multi-agent systems, production engineering, and capstone projects.
  • Each language has 188 Markdown pages, supported by more than 330 original SVG diagrams and five interactive demos.
  • reference-agent/ brings together tools, memory, security checks, MCP, FastAPI, and evaluation; its 16 tests run without an API key.
  • The material covers mechanisms as well as framework practice and describes the reference implementation as a teaching baseline rather than a complete production system.
Limitations
  • This is a textbook and teaching implementation, not a ready-to-deploy hosted Agent product.
  • The supplied material does not document OpenAI provider credential setup, FastAPI startup commands, API routes, or MCP client configuration.
  • It does not specify the mdBook or Python versions or the complete runtime requirements, so adopters may need to investigate dependencies.
  • The roadmap still lists more end-to-end projects and evaluation and observability templates as future work.

How does this agent compare with similar options?

Key facts side by side with the most closely related agents.

Agent Source review Form / cost Stars Updated Language Full support on
AI Agent Engineering Textbook This agent 55 · Major gaps FrameworkFree ★ 574 10d ago HTML —
AI Agents — The Definitive Guide (Companion Code) 45 · Major gaps Library / SDKFree + model costs ★ 2.7k 2mo ago Jupyter Notebook —
Hello-Agents 54 · Major gaps Web appFree + model costs ★ 82k 1d ago Python OpenAI API
Dive into LangGraph 69 · Some gaps Library / SDKFree + model costs ★ 457 28d ago Jupyter Notebook Claude Code

How does FollowAgents rate this agent?

FollowAgents source review · FARS-2.1
Major gaps
55/ 100 5-point scale 2.8 / 5
Trust 10/29
Reliability 6/14
Adaptability 12/18
Convention 13/18
Effectiveness 10/13
Verifiability 4/8
Why each dimension lost points
Trust10 / 29 · 1.7/5

The README says the reference implementation includes fail-closed permission checks, prompt-injection guardrails, and security coverage, which supports limited credit for least privilege and external-effect controls. The supplied material lacks implementation details, so it cannot establish whether actions require user confirmation, how data flows are disclosed, how sensitive data is handled, or whether rollback and dependency-risk mitigations exist. The README names papers and protocols but provides no chapter text or itemized sources here, so attribution is only partially assessable. No concrete red-line evidence appears.

Reliability6 / 14 · 2.1/5

The README presents a coherent learning path from fundamentals through deployment and describes a companion reference agent. The supplied test files are consistent with its claims about FakeProvider-based offline use and evaluation samples. The workflows pin mdBook and mdbook-katex versions and include build checks, though they still rely on dependency retrieval and network availability. The supplied assertions cover only a small set of cases; no user-facing error explanations or recovery guidance are shown, so failure handling receives limited credit.

Adaptability12 / 18 · 3.3/5

The README clearly targets learners moving from basic LLM API use to building, evaluating, securing, and deploying agents, and offers bilingual content, multiple subject areas, and hands-on projects. It also labels the reference agent a teaching baseline rather than a production-complete system. The supplied files do not establish detailed capability boundaries, prerequisites, or unsuitable scenarios. Since this is a static repository, there is no evidence for selecting or triggering content based on a user's needs. Bilingual mdBook sources, an environment setup chapter, and local build instructions support some environment fit.

Convention13 / 18 · 3.6/5

The README organizes the material into foundations, core capabilities, frameworks, multi-agent systems, production, and capstones, with FAQ, resources, glossary, and prompt-template appendices. It gives install and run commands for the reference implementation and states its teaching purpose, but full environment requirements are not shown in the supplied material. Directory naming is broadly consistent, and examples, tests, and a FAQ entry point are identified. The MIT license text is present. The supplied files show no version policy or changelog and do not clearly assign maintenance responsibility or an update cadence; contribution guidance only describes contribution types and bilingual maintenance expectations.

Effectiveness10 / 13 · 3.8/5

The learning path, diagrams, interactive demos, paper-to-practice explanations, and reference implementation offer substantial learning value for agent development. The README claims 23 chapters, bilingual pages, and broad topic coverage, while the supplied tests show a few offline examples. Directly reusable outputs are mainly learning materials and a teaching baseline; complete end-to-end capstones remain on the roadmap, and the supplied material cannot establish broader task effectiveness or realized cost-benefit.

Verifiability4 / 8 · 2.5/5

The README identifies chapters, the reference-agent location, install commands, and test entry points; supplied tests assert a few behaviors, and workflows show build and directory-parity checks. These provide traceable support for some claims. Most chapter text, the full reference implementation, and independent corroborating sources are absent from the supplied material, so broad capability and quality claims cannot be cross-checked. The README distinguishes the teaching baseline from production completeness and lists future work, but counts such as page and diagram totals are not independently supported here.

Risks and how to mitigate them
  • This assessment uses only the README, license, workflows, and partial test files in the prompt. Chapter contents and the full agent implementation were not provided, and no code was executed.
  • The README explicitly describes the reference agent as a teaching baseline. These materials do not establish production readiness; permissions, data handling, failure paths, and data flows require review against the implementation and deployment.
  • Claims about chapter counts, diagram counts, and coverage are mainly README statements and were not independently checked against the supplied files.
Evidence confidence: Low Reviewed Oct 09, 2026 Reviewed revision 97fdec8cdfea
See the full review method →

FAQ

Do I need a paid model API to use the reference implementation?
No for the documented offline FakeProvider and 16 tests. The repository also offers an optional OpenAI provider; using it requires appropriate credentials, and API charges depend on the service used. The supplied material does not give prices.
Can I deploy this directly as a production Agent service?
That is not established by the repository. It explicitly presents reference-agent/ as a teaching baseline and says it is not production-complete.
Can I connect to the implementation through an MCP client or HTTP API?
The repository lists an MCP server and FastAPI endpoints, but does not provide startup commands, route details, or client configuration in the supplied material. Check the implementation before integrating.
Is it useful if I only want to learn a particular framework?
Yes. The directory includes chapters on LangChain, LangGraph, and Agent frameworks, within a broader curriculum on fundamentals and production engineering.
View on GitHub ↗ Install ↓

Compare agents like this one

The same FARS review applied across the shortlist this agent qualifies for.

Related agents